The University of the Philippines (UP) College of Mass Communication and the University of Perpetual Help System-DALTA (UPHSD) recently honored various Kapamilya personalities, programs, and executives for their contributions to the media industry.

UPHSD’s Alta Media Icon Awards honored 44 Kapamilya programs and personalities for their contributions to developing the nation through media. ABS-CBN chief content officer Charo Santos-Concio, Sharon Cuneta, and Lea Salonga led the awardees with an Icon Award each for their work in broadcast, film, and music, respectively.

The Kapamilya network’s current affairs programs led the list of winners. “TV Patrol” won Best News Program while “Umagang Kay Ganda” won Best Morning Show. “Ipaglaban Mo” won Best Public Service Program, “SOCO” won Best Documentary Program, “Tapatan ni Tunying” won Best News Talk Program, “Matanglawin” won Best Educational Program, and “Sports U” won Best Sports Program.

Meanwhile, Julius Babao won Best Public Service Program Host for “Mission Possible,” Amy Perez won Best Morning Show Host for “Umagang Kay Ganda,” Dyan Castillejo won Best Sports Program Host for “Sports U,” and Kim Atienza won Best Educational Program Host for “Matanglawin.”

In the entertainment category, “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano,” won Best Primetime Drama Series, while “Maalaala Mo Kaya” won Best Drama Anthology. “Ikaw Lang Ang Iibigin” won Best Daytime Drama Series while “Home Sweetie Home” won Best Comedy Program. “Wansapanataym” won Best Youth-Oriented Program while morning show “Magandang Buhay” won Best Showbiz Oriented Talk Show.

The ALTA Media Awards given by the University of Perpetual Help in Las Pinas, recognizes media companies and personalities for significant contributions to national development, especially in shaping the youth

Meanwhile, five of ABS-CBN’s journalists and executives were recognized at UP Mass Comm’s Glory Awards, which honors recipients for their “excellence in broadcasting, film, journalism, research and allied disciplines such as social advocacy.”

Journalists Ces Oreña-Drilon, Fernando Sepe Jr., and Michelle Santiago received awards for their work in journalism, while media executives Monchet Olives and Linggit Tan-Marasigan received awards for their pioneering work in the television industry for the past thirty years.

Launched last year, the Glory Awards is inspired by the legacy of the college’s first dean, the late Dr. Gloria Feliciano. The awardees were chosen based on a criteria that includes professional track record, leadership and social responsibility, results and impact, and samples of work. Previous winners of the Glory Awards are ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs head Ging Reyes and ABS-CBN TV Production head Laurenti Dyogi.

Other winners at the ALTA Media Awards include “ASAP” and “It’s Showtime” for Best Musical Variety Show and “Best Noontime” Variety Show, respectively, while “It’s Showtime” host Vice Ganda won Best Variety Show Host.

Reality shows “I Can See Your Voice” won Best Game Show while “Your Face Sounds Familiar Kids” (Season 3) won Best Talent Competition. Robi Domingo, who hosted “I Can Do That,” won Best Talent Competition Host.

Coco Martin won Best Actor for TV (“FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano”) while Maja Salvador won Best Actress for TV (“Wildflower”). Daniel Padilla and Liza Soberano won Most Influential Male and Female TV Personalities respectively. Joshua Garcia won Most Promising Male Star for TV while he and Julia Barretto won Best Love Team. Child star Awra Briguela won Best Child Performer for Film for “Ang Panday.”

In the music categories, Michael Pangilinan won Best Male Recording Artist for “Bakit Ba Ikaw” while Moira dela Torre won Best Female Recording Artist for “Titibo-tibo.”

Lifestyle program hosts Gina Lopez (“G Diaries” on ABS-CBN and ANC, the ABS-CBN News Channel) and Bianca Gonzales (“Modern Living TV” on ANC) also won Best Travel Show Host and Best Lifestyle Show Host respectively. Meanwhile, comedian, host, and vlogger Alex Gonzaga won Most Influential Female Social Media Personality.

ABS-CBN also won various awards for its radio programs and hosts. MOR 101.9 won Best FM Station while morning program “Morning Pinas” won Best FM Radio Program. DZMM Radyo Patrol 630’s news commentary program “Dos Por Dos” won Best AM Radio Program, while its host Anthony Taberna won Best AM Radio Male Personality. Meanwhile, Karen Davila won Best AM Radio Female Personality for “Pasada Sais Trenta” also on DZMM.